SCS Council and Committees

SCS Officers, Past Presidents and Honorary Members

75th Anniversary Presentation – Click Here to Watch!

Current Officers

Shona Bear President
John Lofthouse Vice President
Mustafa Varcin Honorary Treasurer
Sarah Gladstone Honorary Secretary
& Membership Committee Chair

Past Presidents

Year Name
2022 Sam Farmer
2021 Laura Kirkbride
2020 Stewart Long
2019 Mary Lord
2018 Grace Abamba (Fellow)
2017 Ms J Searle
2016 Dr R Borner
2015 Mr S Barton (Fellow)
2014 Dr E Meredith
2013 Dr B Brockway (Fellow)
2012 Dr T Gough
2011 Mr R J Parker
2010 Dr C Flower
2009 Mr D C Godfrey
2008 Miss J A Beerling
2007 Mr M Salmon
2006 Mr C J Nichols
2005 Mr M Cross
2004 Mrs E M Roberts
2003 Mrs P A Ayres
2002 Mr M H Hickling
2001 Miss S M Hurst
2000 Dr A C Dweck
1999 Mrs R Bonser
1998 Dr P F Fridd
1997 Mrs H Pool
1996 Dr A C Dweck
1995 Mr D A Whitehouse
1994 Mrs K Robinson
1993 Dr J Ferguson
1992 Mr K L Knowlton
1991 Mr I M Philpson
1990 Mr V H Hyde
1989 Mr S E M Pearce
1988 Mrs A Janousek
1987 Mr R Harison
1986 Mr P J Cooney
1985 Mr J D Middleton
Year Name
1984 Mr D M Bryce
1983 Mr G L Banks
1982 Mr D R Munden
1981 Mr M W Steed
1980 Dr P J Rothwell
1979 Dr A J Tyler
1978 Dr P J Wilson
1977 Mr K V Curry
1975 Dr F G Brown
1974 Miss A E Young
1973 Mr G A S Pitt
1972 Mrs H Butler
1971 Mr J S Cannell
1970 Mr K M Godfrey
1969 Dr J J Mausner
1968 Mr C Pugh
1967 Mr D E Butterfield
1966 Dr A W Middleton
1965 Mr R Clark
1964 Mr H Herzka
1963 Mr S J Bush
1962 Mr G A C Pitt
1961 Dr H W Hibbott
1960 Dr H W Hibbott
1959 Dr R H Marriott
1958 Dr R H Marriott
1957 Mr J P Pickhall
1956 Mr R T Dobson
1955 Mr R T Dobson
1954 Dr R H Marriott
1953 Dr R H Marriott
1952 Dr R H Marriott
1951 Mr F V Wells
1950 Mr F V Wells
1949 Mr F V Wells

Honorary Members

Upon the recommendation of the Council of the Society, the Society may, by a majority vote in the Council Meeting, elect as Honorary Members such persons as may be deemed worthy by virtue of services rendered to the Society or of scientific value in the cosmetic and allied fields. Each Honorary Member shall be entitled to take part in all the Society’s activities.  This is awarded at the Annual General Meeting and all Honorary Members shall have complimentary life-time membership.

Mrs Pauline Ayres
Mr Geoffrey Banks
Mr Steve Barton (fellow)
Miss Judith Beerling
Dr Barbara Brockway (fellow)
Mr Anthony Dweck
Dr Jack Ferguson
Dr Christopher Flower
Mr Dene Godfrey
Dr Tony Gough
Mr Maurice Hickling
Mrs Angela Janousek
Dr Emma Meredith
Mr John Middleton
Dr Anthony Morton
Mr David Munden
Mr Robin Parker
Ms Daksha Patel
Mr Ian Phillipson
Dr Anthony Rawlings (fellow)
Dr Philip Rothwell
Mrs Lorna Weston
Mr David Whitehouse
Mr Barry Winslett
Mr John Woodruff
Mr Stewart Long


Not a member?
Apply for membership